Excercize! What is Too Much?

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that since the beginning of week 3 Post Op, I have been going crazy exercising.  Not only that, but I signed up for a fitness center and… a 12 month committment to a Personal Trainer! 

I’m happy to say that I have made at least 6 days in a row to excercise and I’m so proud of myself.  I’m changing my life in the right direction!

However, I found out something very interesting!  My friend who had Lap-Band Surgery several years ago was surprised that I was working out so much.  She urged me to check with my Surgeon to make sure that at 3 weeks Post-Op I was allowed to excercise.  I couldn’t figure out why not?!?! 

After thinking about it for a while, I decided my health is very important to me.  I invested so much to get this surgery that I didn’t want to do anything to cause a complication. 

This is what I found out: 

  • Walking is fantastic.  Do it as much as possible.
  • Aerobic excercise is great!  Do it as much as possible.
  • High Intensity Aerobics – DO NOT DO UNTIL 6 weeks Post Op!
  • Do NOT do sit-ups, or any strenuous excercise around the stomach muscle until 6 – 8 weeks Post-Op.

I’m really glad that I called.  When I listed that Aerobic excercise is great.  I want to clarify.  You can do the bikes, stairs, Stairmaster, Treadmill, aerobic classes, etc.  But, if there is a high intensity class – we need to skip that until our internal heals.

Why?  The APRN (Surgeon’s Assistant) shared with me that although our exterior laparoscopic wounds look healed – internally, they are not yet healed all the way.  High intensity aerobics and most important any stomach excercise can exasperate the internal stitches and wounds which can cause inflammation to infection.

I thought this to be interesting…

3 thoughts on “Excercize! What is Too Much?

  1. It’s good that you checked into it, and great for you for getting active. It’s an amazing feeling to be able to do stuff in a way you may have never thought possible. My coaches in my running class have stressed to remember to rest, they are big on taking 2 days of rest a week because it gives your muscles time to recover and gain strength and that 5 days of workouts is actually more effective than 7 days of workouts.

Comments are closed.