Surgery Is Improving My Life

It’s true!  Gastric By-pass Surgery is actually making a physical difference in my life. The surgery has given me a new lease on my life, and this is only the beginning of my journey.  I’m doing things physically that I would not have been able to do a month ago, a year ago or longer. lynnkdis

 While I have mentioned in earlier posts that I am a little frustrated that I haven’t lost more than the 20 lbs since my surgery.  I honestly have to admit that over the last few weeks I have noticed impressive and substantial changes in my life.  I thank God for these changes.  I’m actually amazed!  I didn’t realize how quickly these changes would occur!  I lived what seemed a life time in pain. I’m now able to walk without pain in my joints or back, my back is no longer always in excruciating pain (whether sitting or walking), I can walk up my 3 flights of stairs to get to my apartment without stopping at each level for a rest, my asthma has improved dramatically, I’m able to physically “work out” (which I didn’t think was possible) and other changes too!  This is a really BIG DEAL!  I’m so thankful that I had this surgery!  I can only imagine what my future holds!

Last Thursday, both my daughters and our good friend, Mitch had such an amazing time at “Lake Compound” in Connecticut.  This is a large Amusement Park.  I was impressed at how well I was able to walk around without taking breaks for my back.  I kept up with everyone. I’m so excited.  My back never even gave me a problem either!  And, yes… “fit” on the rides!  The seat belt was able to go around my lap!

Last year, when my kids and I went to Six Flags in New Jersey I had the hardest time with walking around.  I was not physically able to walk from my car to the front entrance without stopping once or twice to catch my breath.  And, after walking around for a while inside the park, I can’t begin to tell you how much pain my back was in!  I’d have to sit down and rest, while everyone went their way.   I was in excruciating pain – and that is an understatement!  I still remember that by the time we were leaving the park in the evening – it literally felt like there was a knife stabbing me in my lower back.  I couldn’t stand upright and I could hardly make it to my car in the parking lot.  I really didn’t think I was able to make it that far from the pain.  That’s how bad I was!

However, yesterday I was a new person!  I was able to ride a few rides and not have to “suck in” my gut trying to fasten the seatbelt.  It felt good to just put a seat belt on!  I was able to walk from my car to the entrance without stopping or “huffing and puffing”.  My back did not hurt all day.  My asthma did not bother me at all.  I walked, and walked and walked and walked and felt great!!! 

My daughter’s father who we went (and my best friend), “Mitch” actually commented and stated how different I was.  He was able to see all the physical things that I am able to do now that years ago I was restricted from doing – or was doing with so much pain!  It felt great! 

I can only imagine what I will be like when I lose another 20 lbs or more!  My new life is only beginning to make noticeable changes and it is so exciting.  I’m really glad that I did have the gastric by-pass surgery.  This surgery gave me a new lease on my life.

