Week 7 Update – Gastric By Pass

updateI’ve made it to week 7!  And I’m still doing well.

You will notice on my home page of my blog site that I decided to track my weight loss for the world to see.  Right before surgery I weighted 235 (this doesn’t include my highest weight) and have happily lost a total 23.1 lbs in the seven weeks after my surgery.  I’m elated at the weight loss, the change in my pant and shirt sizes… but, at the same time I’m curious why I’m not losing more If I’m working out HARD 5 – 6 days a week!  But, on the positive, I’ve started packing up my FAT cloths that I do not even want to see again – and bring them to the consignment shop.  $$

One of my hardest obstacles these last 7 weeks has been getting enough protein into my daily diet.  I believe we need 30 – 50 grams of protein a day.  As you may recall, I had been having difficulties with protein shakes.  Yet, I am slowly getting adjusted to a 1/2 or a 1/4 of one each day.  Victory!

Let’s talk about my “nutrients”.  You know, those vitamins that we are required to take on a daily basis to “live” now that our bodies can’t absorb these vitamins adequately through our food sources.  I’m a BAD GIRL.  My finances have prevented me from buying:  Calcium 500 mg, B12 1000 mcg (under tongue – SL), Iron 60g – Elemental, and my Vitamin D – 2,000 IU.  All of these I should have been taken daily.  But how do you afford these?????????????  I’ve heard some real awful stories and definite complications from people who do not take their daily nutrition/vitamins.  UT OH!

I’m actually looking for a part-time job.  I can’t believe how hard this is to find!  I need to be able to pay to make ends meet, but more importantly to eat all healthy foods (I didn’t go through this process to eat frozen packaged foods again). 

workout Also, to purchase my monthly vitamins and to pay for my Personal Trainer.  I know that he is a bit expensive $35 a session.  However, he has been keeping me accountable for my workouts.  And, let me tell you…  I am a women who hasn’t been in the gym for a zillion years!  If he can motivate me, encourage me, make me feel good, feel like I fit in to the club, and of course challenge me…  I think it is worth $35 a session. 

Life isn’t easy, I think we all have our problems in life.  However, I will survive.

Finally, I want to talk about DATING!  I have a profile on Match.com.  I thought it was a good profile and the picture was not bad.  It’s not professional, but, it’s o.k.  I would like to get more people interested in me.  It doesn’t seem to go all that well.

I also signed up for many of the “free” Single Meet-ups in the area.  These singles get together whether bowling, a weekend away, horseback riding, picking apples, bowling, happy hour, etc.  I’m going to try to find the “GUTS” to show up to one of these.  I still feel FAT.  And, if you can relate, you know how hard it is to show up around single people you don’t know!! 

If you have any suggestions….  PLEASE I’D LOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Week 7 Update – Gastric By Pass

  1. You can get a free 90 day supply of Bariatric Advantage vitamins if you have someone from your surgeons office fill out a request form and fax it in to the Obesity Action Coalition. Vitamins really can be expensive and its great that the OAC reaches out to try to help because malnutrition and vitamin deficiency are serious concerns after bariatric surgery. Here’s a link to the website where you can find the form and print it out http://www.obesityaction.org/

Comments are closed.