Inches Melting Away – Week 10

Just this week my Personal Trainer decided to measure my body to see how many inches that I have lost in my thighs, waist, hips, arms, etc.  While I don’t have the measurements with me to share with you; I will say that I was so excited to see how much I have actually lost!  My Inches are Melting Away!

Knowing that you have lost weight, and wearing a size or two smaller is one thing.  But, having those inches on written down paper, in ink written next to my old measurements really makes the reality sink in. 

It’s hard to imagine that my body will one day get smaller than I actually am.  Let’s face it, I’ve been FAT for many years.  The weight that I’ve lost so far is just amazing. (Even though I always think it isn’t fast enough.)  My Personal Trainer had told me that by January I will see substantial changes.  REALLY?! 

It’s hard to envision “substantial changes”, but at the same time it is exciting to think that my gastric by-pass surgery along with my good eating habits and working out are all WORKING!  I mean, it’s WORKING!!!  I can’t begin to imagine what I will look like in January, but I’m excited!!! 

I don’t know about you.  When I look in the mirror, I still see a FAT woman who no longer has 3 chins.  I do acknowledge that I have lost a bit of weight.  Yet, the reflection in the mirror isn’t an actual portrayal of where I am today. 

I think our brain tricks us in to thinking that we are bigger and fatter than we are – or we are so used to seeing ourselves as that fat person that we can’t rid our brain of it.  I think it’s so hard for us to admit that we are doing good (we may jinx the weight loss).  I think our brain is so used to seeing us HEAVY that when we look in the mirror that silly brain of ours tricks us to thinking we are still heavy.  A mind game of sorts.

There is a lot of work to be done…  mentally.  But how do we start?

I’m trying to acknowledge the smaller sizes and wear cloths in my new size.  I’m out of the FAT section and try to soak that in.  Our mind is a powerful tool – getting this brain on board isn’t easy.  We are our own worst critics.  Let’s be kind to ourselves…  If you have any suggestions, please share them with us!

One thought on “Inches Melting Away – Week 10

Comments are closed.